Configuration rollback is one of the most longed feature available in Cisco Nexus. The configuration rollback feature enables you to take a snapshot, or checkpoint, of the Cisco NX-OS configuration and then reapply that configuration to your device at any point without reloading the device. Rollback enables any authorized administrator to apply this checkpoint configuration without requiring expert knowledge of the features configured in the checkpoint.
You can create a checkpoint copy of the current running configuration at any time. Cisco NX-OS saves this checkpoint as an ASCII file that you can use to roll back the running configuration to the checkpoint configuration at a future time. You can create multiple checkpoints to save different versions of your running configuration.
When you roll back the running configuration, you can trigger the following rollback types:
- Atomic: Implement the rollback only if no errors occur. This is the default rollback type.
- Best-effort: Implement a rollback and skip any errors.
- Stop-at-first-failure: Implement a rollback that stops if an error occurs.
- Verbose mode: Shows the execution log and enables the administrator to see what the switch does during a configuration rollback.
When you are ready to roll back to a checkpoint configuration, you can view the changes that will be applied to your current running configuration before committing to the rollback operation. If an error occurs during the rollback operation, you can choose to cancel the operation or ignore the error and proceed with the rollback. If you cancel the operation, Cisco NX-OS provides a list of changes already applied before the error occurred. You need to clean up these changes manually.
Configuration rollback limitations are as follows:
- You are allowed to create up to 10 checkpoint copies per VDC.
- You are not allowed to apply a checkpoint file of one VDC into another VDC.
- You are not allowed to apply a checkpoint configuration in a non-default VDC if there is a change in the global configuration portion of the running configuration compared to the checkpoint configuration.
- The checkpoint filenames must be 75 characters or less.
- You are not allowed to start a checkpoint filename with the word auto.
- You cannot name a checkpoint file with summary or any abbreviation of the word summary.
- Only one user can perform a checkpoint or rollback or copy the running configuration to the startup configuration at the same time in a VDC.
- After execution of the write erase and reload commands, checkpoints are deleted. You can use the clear checkpoint database command to clear out all checkpoint files.
- Rollback fails for NetFlow if during rollback you try to modify a record that is programmed in the hardware.
- Although rollback is not supported for checkpoints across software versions, users can perform rollback at their own discretion and can use the best-effort mode to recover from errors.
- When checkpoints are created on bootflash, differences with the running-system configuration cannot be performed before performing the rollback and the system reports No Changes.
Recommended Reading –
Also don’t forget to use and rate our DNS, email & network tools